Wednesday, August 20, 2008

Veganized fluffer-nutter

I used to love fluffer-nutter sandwiches as a kid - peanut butter and marshmallow cream - super sweet and sticky and messy, perfect kid's food. I haven't had marshmallow fluff in over 20 years as it contains gelatin, an animal product. Last week, while shopping at the only upscale grocery store in our area, I found a vegan version of marshmallow fluff. No gelatin! It's made from brown rice. The "ricemellow" is not quite as stiff nor as pristine white as the regular fluff but it tastes the same and it there is no guilt involved when consuming it. I love all these small companies that are making vegan and vegetarian versions of popular foods. They rock! I've been a vegetarian for over 20 years and animal-free products used to be few and far between. Now, there are so many delicious choices I have been able to rediscover some childhood favorites like fluffer-nutter sandwiches.


  1. Thank you so much for posting this, I can't wait to try it. I've been hooked on going thru your recipes. I've just converted to being a vegetarian and am always on the hunt for new recipes as I'm not nearly as creative in the kitchen as you are.

  2. Thanks for commenting Amelia! I am hoping to redesign my web site so that it is possible to search for recipes more easily. If you have any questions please e-mail me!